Paleo Banana Bread

bananaBread-1

Written by Rae

Today I made paleo banana bread.  Normally I make regular banana bread with white flour, sugar, and butter, but I have to be careful about what I eat due to a health condition which is aggravated by grains, sugar, and dairy.  It’s not like I want to make paleo versions of sweets.  I love to bake and am also pretty good at it, but at some point I have to accept that I just can’t eat the same things as I did before without being on some sort of pharmaceuticals.  I’m trying to avoid medication and improve the symptoms of my condition naturally by giving my body a chance by avoiding these irritants.  Therefore, I decided to make a paleo recipe given to me by my twin sister.

The recipe turned out better than I expected.  If you’ve ever made any sort of paleo bread before, you know how it can be disappointing.  However, I was pleasantly surprised by the way this recipe turned out.  It was almost like non-paleo banana bread texture wise, and it might have been hard for someone to tell the difference if they didn’t know. The best part about it is it’s loads healthier than non-paleo banana bread.  There is virtually no sugar or other gut irritants like wheat flour.  I didn’t even use black bananas like I normally do because I was impatient to get baking, and it still turned out great.  Just think about how good it would be with rotten bananas . . . yum!

Here’s the recipe:

Preheat oven to 160 C

Dry ingredients:

150 grams almond flour

2 tablespoons other flour (I used tapioca)

2 tablespoons shredded coconut

1 or 1.5 teaspoon baking powder

a pinch of salt

Wet ingredients:

3 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla

2 tablespoons oil (I used olive oil)

1 tablespoon raw honey or maple syrup

2 or 3 bananas (smashed or processed to a mush in a food processor)

Combine the wet and dry ingredients and bake for 30-40 minutes, until the loaf starts to pull away from the pan.  Would go well with dark chocolate chunks and whatever spices you like to add.  I added cinnamon.

4 thoughts on “Paleo Banana Bread

    1. Yeah, you could. The coconut I used was a corse coconut powder and not shreds. I think you could probably just add 2 more tablespoons of almond flour instead, or omit it all together if you wanted. Experiment! I would try and use the rotten bananas if it’s your first time making paleo bread, so it tastes more like the real thing . . . and add chocolate chips.

      Like

Leave a Reply

