Homemade Sunbutter Bread!

sunFlowerBread-2

Written by Rae

Sunbutter is made from sunflower seeds in the same way that almond butter is made from almonds.  Up until a week ago, I didn’t even make the connection and had no idea what sunbutter was.  But, I kept seeing it in paleo baking recipes and after google-ing sunbutter and figuring out what it was, I decided to make some of my own.

I bought a huge bag of seeds for 5,000KRW at the Foreign Mart, toasted the seeds and grounded them up in our food processor.  I added olive oil, some salt, and a little bit of palm sugar.  I added the sugar because damn is it bitter.  I didn’t like it.  Everywhere I read online said it was a great alternative to peanut butter so that’s what I was expecting . . .  but no.  Not only did it not taste like sunflower seeds but it also had a strong bitter taste.  It was also green, which I read somewhere can happen if you heat the seeds.  The greenness didn’t effect the taste, but it was already nasty to begin with.

I searched online for recipes using sunbutter just so I could get rid of it somehow.  God knows, I was not about to eat it by the spoonful.  I found this one.  The woman said she was surprised how good it was.  I thought it wouldn’t be a waste of sunbutter because I probably wouldn’t up eating it anyway.

Low and behold!  The bread turned out very good!  This was much better than the almond flour bread I made from Elana’s Pantry.  It tastes like real bread.  It has a nutty flavor and a real crust, which for some reason ends up super shiny.  It kind of tastes like whole grain bread.

sunFlowerBread-1

After I took it out of the oven it had a beautiful crack and was very puffy.  It deflated a little bit after I let it cool, which was slightly disappointing but probably normal.  I think if I had cooked it in a normal sized pan it would have been a decent sized loaf.  However, my pan is long for a loaf pan, so most things come out on the short and long side, rather than tall.

Overall, I was very pleased with this bread.  For someone who can’t eat normal bread, it is an excellent alternative.  It would probably taste great as french toast and maybe even with an egg in a hole.  I might just keep on making sunbutter for this purpose alone!

Sunbutter bread:  Preheat oven to 350 F, or 176 C

1 cup sunbutter

3 eggs

1 tablespoon vinegar (I used apple cider vinegar)

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

Combine all the ingredients in a bowl and stir until combined.  Pour in a greased loaf pan and bake for 25 minutes.

Leave a Reply

