Honey-Vanilla Almond Cake

almondHoneyCake-1

almondHoneyCake-2

Written by Rae

I found this recipe while looking at my Pulse application, which headlines different food blogs or magazines.  I saw this recipe and was immediately intrigued.  I was drawn to this recipe because I saw honey and almond in the title, two things I can eat and bake with.  I read on about the recipe and saw that it had no refined sugar or flour!  Low and behold it was paleo friendly, without actually being labeled as paleo.  I don’t know if this was intentional or not, but if you know anything about paleo baking, it sometimes doesn’t turn out right – and you actually have to adjust your palette and imagination a bit when eating.  Since it was on Serious Eats, a blog with a wide readership, I thought it must be good and that I should give it a try.

Wow!  This cake was the most non-paleo cake I’ve baked!  It was tasty, too!  It is fluffy like a real cake (probably because the egg whites were whipped to soft peaks and then folded into he batter), and would maybe be a good base for frosting, coconut milk whipped cream, and fresh fruit.  The reason why it gets dark on the outside is because of the almond flour, which tends to burn easily.  But this cake didn’t taste burnt.  It tasted sweet and earthy, thanks to the honey and vanilla bean.  I would definitely make it again.

4 thoughts on “Honey-Vanilla Almond Cake

  1. Hi Ben and Rae! This looks great! But you probably don’t deliver, I’m guessing? I’m looking for a bakery in Seoul that bakes gluten-free or paleo cakes – and hopefully can deliver to Jazz Alley Club in Gwanak-gu? Any suggestions? I’ll be singing there on my birthday – May 2nd!

    Like

Leave a Reply

