Crepe dentelle

crepe_dentelle-1

Written by Ben

We used to eat this cookie, when my mom would buy it, with some ice cream.
It is so light and crunchy that I couldn’t resist to share this recipe.
I just followed an american recipe, after failing a french traditional one.
In fact, I think the french one is made to be executed with a big fry pan, the flat ones you use to make crepes, because there was too much milk and it was so runny. It looked like crepe batter. What the f~
After feeling fooled again by a french recipe, I decided to switch for an american one after taking the advice of my girlfriend!
It was much easier this time. Here is the recipe.
I also discovered other interesting stuff on this site. I recommend you to read it further if you are interested about cooking in general.

If you don’t have any stencil templates it is not the end of the world. I cut my cookies with a sharp knife delicately and rolled them quickly because the sugar crystallizes quickly and they harden in a minute.
Also, the recommended thickness is good to make thick cookies but if you want them to look more like a true crepe dentelle, or “gavotte”, you should spread out the dough as thin as you can.

crepe_dentelle-2
I made a lot of ugly ones that will be crushed and used for texture in some cakes.

One thought on “Crepe dentelle

Leave a Reply

