Snickerdoodles

snicker_doddle-2

Written by Rae

Today I made a large batch of snickerdoodles!  Snickerdoodles are delicious enough for any time of the year, but I think they are great fall/winter cookies because something about cinnamon is very comforting in the winter.  I don’t know exactly how to describe the cookie flavor, but they are similar to sugar cookies except taste lighter and fluffier.  They are perfect for holidays and winter festivities, and a cookie that most people enjoy.  My sister and I used to make these every year with our aunt and one of our cousins for Christmas.

It’s funny because I hadn’t made these until last year when I first got an oven handed down to me from my friend who was returning to France.  Now that I have an oven, I remember how delicious these cookies are, and am able to make them again with fondness.

Since it was hard to find cream of tartar in Korea up until this past year, I’ve been using this Martha Stewart recipe without cream of tartar.  According to other blogs and hardcore snickerdoodle-lovers this is an abomination to “real” snickerdoodles.  But if you know me, I don’t really care too much about semantics.  Besides, this cookie is damn delicious no matter how you make it.

The recipe says it makes 1.5 dozen cookies, but I made 54.  I rolled them in balls around 1 inch and was able to fit 6 on one tray for our small oven, which we can only bake 1 sheet at a time.  If you have a large oven, I can imagine the process is a lot faster.

Aren’t they beautiful?  Too bad I won’t be eating any of these babies.  I made them for the KoRoot Solidarity Day Party (along with a few loaves of chocolate zucchini bread.  But, I think I will be making more for Christmas ^^

snicker_doddle-1

Leave a Reply

