Glazed raspberry-chocolate cake

gateau_framboise_choco-1

Written by Ben

There is a cake I loved to eat at the boulangerie, Guillaume, named “le contemporain,” if I remember correctly.
The base is several thin layers of chocolate sponge cake or dacquoise (I don’t remember well, sorry for this imprecision),  with chocolate ganache in between.
On top is a layer of raspberry preserve. The combination of chocolate and raspberry is very classical and really hits the spot!
I discovered a recipe in the Christophe Felder book, Mastering the Fundamentals of French Pastry, which probably inspired the cake at Guillaume~
I was very excited to make a similar cake in terms of taste.

Despite the fact that the cake was a bit smaller than I’d expected, it turned out well.
With the original recipe, you can make a 16 by 12 inch (40 by 30 cm) cake, but I divided by 2 to make it fit in my small pastry rectangle.  While assembling it, I realized it made a thinner than I’d thought.
I also made a stupid mistake as you can see in the picture below, because I just read the recipe without thinking. In some cake recipes, you’re supposed to spread a think layer of melted chocolate on the bottom of the cake, so it’s easy to remove from the pan before eating.  However, I forgot to flip it after spreading the layer of melted chocolate on the first layer of sponge cake.

Use a good quality chocolate, because it is the main ingredient and you will taste it all along the tasting.
Like every thin layer of sponge cake, dacquoise or joconde, be careful to not over bake it. I advice you to cook it for less minutes than recommended and watch it constantly because it can change from perfectly cooked to burnt within as little as 2 minutes.
You can pipe the sponge cake batter to spread it evenly.
I didn’t find any fresh raspberry so I bought some frozen raspberry puree to make the preserves and the syrup for the cake part.
As every layered french cake and entremets, to not be overwhelmed by the length of the recipe you can prepare the sponge cake D-2, the raspberry preserve and the syrup D-1, and after the mousse.
In total, it took me 3 hours, freezing time included.

I found one person who was courageous enough to translate the recipe.

gateau_framboise_choco-2

Leave a Reply

