Pumpkin Bread (paleo)

pumpkin_bread-1

pumpkin_bread-4

pumpkin_bread-3

Written by Rae

Spring is just around the corner, so I know it’s a little late for making pumpkin bread.  However, I mentioned in my last post that I wanted to expand my paleo baking repertoire so Ben and I could cut down the amount of flour and sugar we’ve been eating since the holidays.

I was looking for a recipe with an almond flour base, because I’ve become comfortable using it as a base and it works great for paleo banana bread.  I was also looking for a recipe low on sweetener (honey or maple syrup).  Most recipes I saw called for over 1/4 cup of sweetener.  So, I was pleasantly surprised when I found this recipe, which had both an almond flour base and only contained 2-3 tablespoons of honey (although I did add 1 extra tablespoon of honey, to make it 4 tablespoons and around 1/4 cup because I omitted the stevia).

Overall this recipe was a huge hit!  I would not have been able to tell that there was no flour or no sugar in this recipe if I hadn’t made it myself.  There was nothing funny about the taste or texture, which can happen in paleo baking.  It was light, spongey and moist.  The pumpkin taste was strong and pronounced, and the spices gave it a lot of warmth.  When adding the spices, I used the dump and pour method because we didn’t have any allspice, or cloves.  So, I added around 2 tablespoons of cinnamon, grated some nutmeg, some quatre epices and a little bit of anise.  The woman who created the recipe said that it is very spice heavy, so some people might need to cut the spices in half if they want to taste more of the pumpkin flavor.  I think if I had added the exact amount of spices as the recipe calls for, it would taste a lot like Pain d’Epice.  Next time I will add more 🙂  I also think this would also taste good with some strudel on top, or with some cream cheese frosting.

I can’t wait to make it again!  Which will probably be later tonight . . .

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Bread (paleo)

Leave a Reply

