Alsatian Cinnamon Rolls

cinnamon_rolls_v1 (4 of 6)

cinnamon_rolls_v1 (6 of 6)

Written by Rae

Benoit and I have been super busy because we’ve been meeting new people, had a wedding party, plus I hosted a crystal healing workshop with my sister, and then my dad came for two weeks.  We have a lot of back-posting to do, so I apologize if you’re inbox is being flooded.

I made these for my french class a few weeks ago.  I decided on them because Benoit made brioche nanterre the previous week, and I wanted to test how brioche would taste with cinnamon rolls.  I got the recipe from the book The Art of French Pastry by Jacquy Pfeiffer.  They are made with brioche dough (butter based), and inside have almond cream, raisons and cinnamon.  They are topped with a powdered sugar icing.

Overall they were pretty good, but I still prefer American cinnamon rolls, and especially caramel pecan rolls.  I think American cinnamon rolls are just as fluffy and tasty.  I didn’t think the almond cream added anything particularly special to the taste of the rolls, which is maybe why I am more satisfied by the simple filling of butter, sugar, and extra cinnamon in the American version.  Though, I do believe that there is a place for the less sweet, and more delicate French desserts, for me this wasn’t necessarily a wow.

Leave a Reply

