Corn Chiffon

corn_chiffon_v1 (3 of 5)

corn_chiffon_v1 (2 of 5)

corn_chiffon_v1 (4 of 5)

corn_chiffon_v1 (5 of 5)

Written by Rae

Back during Christmas, Ben and I each bought each other a cookbook.  I can define this more by saying we each bought each other a book on pastry and baking.  Ben choose The Art of French Pastry by Jacquy Pfeiffer, and I choose a book called Flour Flavors by Alice Medrich.  In Flour Flavors, Medrich gives many different recipes, non of which contain the standard all-purpose white flour.  Instead, she uses other flours such as buckwheat, teff,  coconut, corn and rice – just to name a few.

Her use of non-wheat flours, which are also gluten free, interested me because of my interest in healthy eating, and also because of the paleo diet.  Even though her recipes do contain sugar, it was still nice to see other flours being explored.  Since I recently purchased the chiffon cake mold, I decided to try and make the corn chiffon, and damn, did I make a choice!

The cake turned out to taste a lot like corn bread.  It might as well have been called corn-bread.  It might have been slightly fluffier than cornbread, though.  It was sweet, moist, and corn-y.  The raw batter itself was just as delicious, and I admit to restraining myself from licking the bowl.  If I remember right, I decreased the sugar by about 30 grams.  Next time, I might try decreasing it by half (there are 200 g in the recipe), because the corn flour itself is already sweet.  The only thing I didn’t do was that I didn’t remove the cake from the mold right away, as suggested.  I didn’t want it to sink, even though the recipe says that the cake will sink an inch or so, so I flipped it upside down on a bottle like I did with my orange chiffon cake.  This was kind of a mistake because the bottom of the cake was a little too moist, and slightly soggy.  It turned out to be okay, as I let it sit out at room temperature for two days under a sieve.  Next time I will follow the instructions for letting the cake cool exactly.

I would definitely recommend Medrich’s book, and can’t wait to try out other recipes from her!

2 thoughts on “Corn Chiffon

  1. Another success!!!! It’s lovely. FYI, I’ve worked with Alice Medrich on the cooking magazine that I worked on for many years. She developed recipes for us. I also have several of her cookbooks, though not this one. We always tested recipes before publishing them, and many times they needed tweaking. Alice’s, however, usually didn’t. She’s an incredibly precise recipe developer, and I agree with your conclusion that it’s wise to follow her directions, simply because she’s so obsessed with quality and exactness. And, her recipes are always so inventive!

    Like

Leave a Reply

