Orange Chiffon Cake

orange_chiffon_cake_v1 (1 of 6)

orange_chiffon_cake_v1 (4 of 6)

orange_chiffon_cake_v1 (6 of 6)

orange_chiffon_cake_v1 (5 of 6)

Written by Rae

The mom of a little girl who I tutor gives me a small snack each time I go over there house to teach her daughter.  Last week she gave me a small piece of orange chiffon cake.  It wasn’t necessarily anything special, but I had been wanting to try a chiffon cake because I think the pans are neat.  The way the pan works is that the batter, which is made from a meringue, sticks and climbs the way up the sides of the mold to create a light and fluffy cake.  This cake can’t work in a pan that is coated with a non-stick coating, otherwise it will not be able to rise.  You also have to flip the cake upside down after it’s done cooking, so it doesn’t sink back into itself and become flat, again.  I propped mine up a beer bottle we had gotten at the Ghibli Museum in Japan.

I found this recipe on a blog from a woman who lives in Malaysia.  I think her blog is really cute and neat, and I followed her blog to some other blogs run by asian women who cook and bake.  I think the cultural differences and recipes are really cute and neat, which is also what inspired me to make this chiffon cake.

Even though chiffons originate in America, many asians cultures have taken a liking to these cakes because of their fluffy nature and taste.  They have also adjusted the taste of the chiffon a bit to their palate, and tend to make them less sweet than the Americans.  It’s refreshing to have a lightly sweetened cake, especially now that I’ve been living abroad for 5 years, my taste palate has changed.  American food can taste not only too sweet, but also too salty at times.

Overall the cake turned out fantastic.  It had a wonderful orange flavor and a very light and fluffy texture.  We ate it with whipped cream and strawberries!  How cute.  I did make some changes to the recipe, which is that I cut out around 30 grams of sugar, and I used 1 T of candied orange peels (which I had left over), and 1 T of orange zest.  I squeezed my orange juice directly from one orange as suggested in the recipe.

Now, I’m excited to try more chiffon cakes in the future.  They are simple, easy, and inexpensive to make.  I guess they would make a nice gift, too . . . even though they remind me of a (IMO) horrible 90s trend of angel food cake . . . don’t get me started on that.

Leave a Reply

