Pear Frangipane Tart (Paleo)

pear_frangipane_tart_PALEO_v1 (1 of 5)

pear_frangipane_tart_PALEO_v1 (4 of 5)

pear_frangipane_tart_PALEO_v1 (3 of 5)

pear_frangipane_tart_PALEO_v1 (2 of 5)

Written by Rae

I’ve been baking a lot of non-paleo things these days, which also means I’ve been consuming some of what I make, too.  So, I decided to check out another paleo recipe, and searched for a frangipane tart because we had the canned bartlett pears from the baking market, again.  Frangipane is an almond filling that can be put in cakes, tarts or other pastries.  Pear and frangipane is a classic French combination, and it is oh so good.  The nuttiness of the almond filling complements the lighly sweetened pear.  It’s a truly addictive combination.

We couldn’t help but to wolf two of these tarts down in a week, they turned out so well and they looked great, too!   I doubt that anyone would know it was paleo, unless they were informed.  The only changes I made to the recipe were that the first time I made it I used liquid honey (not raw) which made for a fluffier crust and a fluffier frangipane.  The second time I used raw (crystalized) honey, which was a bit too dense for me, but still tasted good.  I also sifted the almond flour for the first tart, which makes a big difference.  Either way, both were fabulous in looks and taste.  Some of our friends gave it the seal of approval, too.  Yum, yum!

The recipe that I used can be found here.  Though, I will copy and paste it below because I see the woman hasn’t updated her blog in a while, and I’m afraid that it might one day disappear.  It’s so good, I want to keep this in my arsenal for paleo desserts that are worth making.

Crust

1 1/2 cups almond flour

1/2 tsp. salt

1/4 tsp. baking soda

1/4 cup coconut oil, gently melted

2 Tbsp. honey

Frangipane Filling

6 Tbsp. butter, softened

1/3 cup honey

1 large egg

3/4 cup almond flour

1 tsp. almond extract

1 Tbsp. vanilla extract

1 Tbsp. coconut flour

1) Preheat oven to 350°F. Meanwhile, make crust. In a large bowl, combine almond flour, salt, and baking soda. In a medium bowl, whisk together coconut oil and honey. Stir wet ingredients into the flour mixture until thoroughly combined. Press the dough into a 9-inch tart or pie pan, springform if you have it. Put crust in refrigerator while you prepare the filling

2) With a mixer (either standing or hand), cream the butter with the honey until fluffy, then add egg, almond flour, almond & vanilla extracts, and the coconut flour. Remove the crust from the fridge and spread the filling over it evenly. If using firmer fruit (pear, peach, etc.)  that needs baking, add it now. Bake the tart in the center of the oven for 20 minutes, or until golden brown. If tart is still wiggly in the middle, give it a few more minutes (set that timer!), and if it’s getting too brown, cover loosely with tin foil.

2 thoughts on “Pear Frangipane Tart (Paleo)

  1. Yum. Coconut flour? I haven’t seen that here, though it’s probably available from specialty mail-order places. And how beautiful, too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

