Brioche Bostock and Brioche Nanterre

brioche_bostock_v1 (7 of 8)

brioche_bostock_v1 (8 of 8)

Written by Rae

Since I’ve been a little obsessed with viennoiseries and brioche lately, I wanted to make a brioche nanterre and then make something else with that brioche.  Therefore, I decided to make brioche bostock because they sounded oh so good.  If you’ve never heard of brioche bostock before, don’t fret.  I hadn’t either . . . and neither had Benoit – and he’s French!  It’s just in a few of my pastry books, which is how I learned about it.  It looks simple but it is deceptively addictive.  Brioche bostock is kind of like french toast jacked up on sugar.  It’s a baked slice of brioche dipped in almond syrup, topped with almond cream and slivered almonds.  Damn, it’s good.

I used the recipe from the book The Art of French Pastry for the brioche bostock – and I believe I used the recipe for Parisian brioches from the Christophe Felder book for the brioche nanterre.  After baking the brioche, I let it rest overnight (although using brioche a few days old also works and would probably be better).  The next morning, I sliced the brioche up.  Afterwards, I lightly dipped them in the almond syrup and let them rest on a rack for 15 minutes, in case any excess syrup needed to drip off.  I spread them with the almond cream and sprinkled slivered almonds on them.  On some of them, I also added chocolate chips, but in my opinion it was a little much.  When they come out of the oven, they end up crispy, almondy, and sugary!  Although you don’t need to, you can sprinkle extra powdered sugar on them after they’ve cooled, which gives them a nice finishing touch.  Next time I think I’m going to soak the brioche in an orange/almond syrup to make the flavor really pop.  Plus, Benoit and I are a big fan of orange!

Here are some pics of the process:

brioche_rae_v1 (1 of 6)

brioche_rae_v1 (6 of 6)

brioche_rae_v1 (4 of 6)

brioche_rae_v1 (5 of 6)

brioche_bostock_v1 (1 of 8)

brioche_bostock_v1 (2 of 8)

brioche_bostock_v1 (3 of 8)

brioche_bostock_v1 (4 of 8)
Before baking.
Leave a Reply

