Pear Caramel Entremet

entremet_poire_caramel_V1 (3 of 3)

entremet_poire_caramel_V1 (2 of 3)

entremet_poire_caramel_V1 (1 of 3)

Written by Rae

Last weekend we made this pear caramel entremet.  The cake is a chocolate sponge cake.  In the middle are diced pears with a caramel sauce and on top of those is a caramel mousse.  The caramel mousse is very light in flavor, as is the chocolate sponge cake, so it is not heavy at all.  I made half the recipe, but should have added more caramel sauce over the pears to give it a bit more of a punch.  Benoit and I both made it together, but originally I started this cake because I thought I should challenge myself to make pastries which require more elements.  For finishing, we were supposed to put cracked caramel sugar all over the top, but because of the humidity, I thought that was a bad idea.  So, we ended up dusting the top with cocoa powder and it still looked great!

Leave a Reply

