Pain Au Chocolat

pain_chocolat_ben_V1 (1 of 3)

pain_chocolat_Rae_V1 (1 of 4)

pain_chocolat_ben_V1 (3 of 3)

pain_chocolat_Rae_V1 (2 of 4)

pain_chocolat_Rae_V1 (4 of 4)

pain_chocolat_Rae_V1 (3 of 4)pain_chocolat_ben_V1 (2 of 3)

Written by Rae

It’s funny how in America we call these “chocolate croissants,” yet in French it’s just called bread with chocolate.  Anyhoo, pain au chocolat is probably my all time favorite pastry.  When I was in France this summer, I ate them frequently.  They are flaky, buttery, soft and fluffy, and of course – chocolaty.  That’s what I love about them!  In the past, I have enjoyed making pastries using yeast, so I thought I should challenge myself more and make some pain au chocolat.  I actually decided after I saw a very non-intimidating recipe on a French recipe site (like allrecipes), and I saw that the chefs did all the turns in one go.  In other recipes I’ve read that making puff pastry is a whole day affair, but the chefs in the video made it seem very matter of fact and straight forward.  However, when I tried their recipe it was a little tasteless . . .  so I remade them and voila, the beautiful results (which I’m honestly not sure I could replicate again)!

The recipe I used was the Christophe Felder recipe (which I halved) and inside I inserted 20 grams of French chocolate.  Instead of letting the dough rest in between turns, I did all the turns in one go.  The dough did tear a little, so I think next time I will take my time and let it cool down a bit in the fridge in between turns.  After rolling out the dough, I let them rise in a warm oven for a few hours and then baked them!  I am really proud of the results and they were really delicious, too.

Leave a Reply

