Paleo Fruit Cake

fruit_cake_V1 (2 of 5)

fruit_cake_V1 (5 of 5)

Written by Rae

I decided to make this fruit cake after asking my Australian friend what they traditionally had on Christmas for dessert.  She said “christmas pudding with custard.”  Well, I had no idea what that was, so I googled it and it looked a lot like a fruit cake . . . which is notorious in the US for being kind of horrible and British.  My friend told me that it wasn’t particularly good, but I wanted to try it myself and find out.

The recipe I decided to follow was from Elana’s pantry, which uses almond flour as the base.  I like her recipes because they are straight forward.  For this recipe, I didn’t add any dried cherries because I didn’t have any.  I just added more raisins, which I soaked in kirsch before adding to the batter.  I also added some candied yuzu peel to the batter, cinnamon and quatre epice.  I baked it in a bundt pan.

I think this turned out really well for a fruit cake.  It was pretty alcoholic, though because of the kirsh, and was filled densely with dried dates, walnuts, and raisins.  It tasted of orange, lemon, cinnamon and clove.  Elana’s recipe didn’t call for any spice, and I think I’d actually prefer it that way.  It was a bit heavy, spicy and overwhelming with the spices, but we did end up finishing the whole thing in a day, so I can’t say it was that bad!  I just don’t think fruit cake is really for me, though so I probably won’t be making one again.  I much prefer pain d’epice, a spicy honey rye French bread.  But, if you do like fruit cake, I’d recommend trying this version 🙂

fruit_cake_V1 (1 of 5)

 

Leave a Reply

