Chocolate Donuts (Paleo)

Jan2016 (1 of 9)Jan2016 (5 of 9)Jan2016 (3 of 9)Jan2016 (2 of 9)Jan2016 (4 of 9)

Written by Rae

In the beginning of last week, I decided to try and make paleo donuts.  I had been craving donuts these days, and resisted grabbing one at Dunking Donuts (which isn’t even any good here in Korea – or maybe anywhere?).  I also held back from making some of the beautiful non-paleo recipes I’d seen on food blogs while googling “donuts,” just to see the possibilities.   I decided to use the recipe from Elana’s pantry, because it was simple and straight forward, as all her recipes are.

These donuts have a coconut flour base and also use coconut oil as their primary fat.  I actually prefer to use refined coconut oil because it doesn’t impart an strong coconut flavor like the unrefined coconut oil, but we just bought a huge jar of unrefined organic coconut oil.  Therefore, the donuts were rather coconut-y, which somewhat overrode the chocolate flavor.  However, the texture was pretty similar to a cake donut, and I think I would re-make this next time using refined coconut oil, butter or a non-scented oil to see if it gives a more chocolate-y result and eliminates the coconut flavor.

I cooked the donuts in a silicone savarin mold, filling them about 3/4 way.  They turned out beautifully and really looking like donuts.  I was pretty astonished since it was my first try and I wasn’t sure if they’d be simple or difficult to achieve.  All you have to do is cut out the middle with knife if some of the dough cooks into the hole.

For the glaze I followed Elana’s recipe and added a little almond extract at the end to try and up the flavor.  So, some of the donuts were plain chocolate (but still tasted strongly of coconut) and some of them were chocolate almond (also tasting strongly of coconut).  I think next time I will find more goodies to put on the glaze like shredded coconut, caramelized nuts, or even make a caramel glaze which might pair even better with the coconut-chocolate flavor.

You can find the recipe here at Elana’s blog, or down below.  I found it made about 12 mini savarins, but Elana’s recipe says about 8 donuts.

Ingredients
Instructions
  1. In a food processor, pulse together coconut flour, cacao powder, salt, and baking soda
  2. Pulse in eggs, coconut oil, and maple syrup until thoroughly combined
  3. Fill each well of the donut mold half way full of batter
  4. Bake at 350° for 15-18 minutes
  5. Remove doughnuts from pan and place on a cooling rack
  6. Use a knife to cut hole in center of each doughnut
  7. In a saucepan, melt chocolate chips and shortening
  8. Drizzle doughnut with chocolate glaze
  9. Cool and serve
Leave a Reply

