Blueberry Muffins with almond flour (paleo)

paleo_blue_muffin (1 of 3)

paleo_blue_muffin (2 of 3)
It has a nice crumb – moist and fluffy – and is loaded with blueberries.

By Rae

Lately I’ve been waking up with a stomachache.  I’ve been eating too much gluten and sugar, which I haven’t been able to give up since our trip to France last July after I’ve figured out a little amount each week doesn’t really hurt.  I think it’s from stress.  I have a lot going on with my jobs right now, and I am looking forward to the day when I have just one job – not FOUR.  Granted I don’t spend that much time actually working, it is a pain in the ass to commute all around the city, and then on Mondays to Bundang (a suburb of Seoul).  This causing more mental fatigue than anything, plus dealing with a bunch of different people where you always have to be “turned-on.”

It’s been really hard for me to keep a positive attitude with all the chaos with work, but baking definitely helps.  This is one muffin recipe that the first time I made it didn’t really blow me away, but after making it again really hit the spot!  It is so good and even better than a “regular muffin.”  I think the key is to add a heaping cup of blueberries and put the muffin batter so it’s at the top of the muffin mold.  This way it makes really big fluffy muffins with a ton of blueberries.

For this recipe, I made a few changes.  For one, I didn’t measure how much cinnamon I added in.  I just dumped a bunch in!  That’s because we really like cinnamon, an it’s one of the keys to enhancing the flavor of the blueberries.  I also substituted butter for coconut oil, because I don’t believe butter is very bad for you and I think it’s more flavorful than coconut oil.  I also used raw honey instead of maple syrup, because that’s what we had.  The only other things that I changed were the cooking time, by adding 10 or so minutes, and by combining the wet ingredients all together before mixing with the dry.

The best part of this recipe is gluten free, and uses honey as a sweetener. So, it doesn’t give me a horrible stomachache after indulging in one (or four).  I found this recipe here and I will post it below with the adaptations I did in bold.

Ingredients
  1. 2 1/2 cups almond flour (measure and then sift)
  2. 1 Tablespoon coconut flour
  3. 1/4 teaspoon salt
  4. 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  5. 1 Tablespoon vanilla
  6. 1/4 cup coconut oil (I used butter)
  7. 1/4 cup maple syrup (I used raw honey)
  8. 1/4 cup coconut milk*
  9. 2 eggs
  10. 1 heaping cup fresh or frozen blueberries (I used frozen)
  11. 2-3 Tablespoons cinnamon
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 350. Line a 12 count muffin tin and lightly oil with coconut oil.
  2. In a mixing bowl (KitchenAid) combine almond flour, coconut flour, salt, and baking soda and stir to combine.
  3. In a separate bowl, cream the butter with honey, and then add the eggs one at a time.  Last, cream in the coconut milk and the vanilla.
  4. Combine the dry ingredients with the wet.
  5. Fold in blueberries and add cinnamon.
  6. Fill the muffin tins to the top.
  7. Bake for 22-25 minutes. (I baked mine for 30 or 35 in our small oven.  It will take longer if you fill the muffin tins to the top).
Leave a Reply

